Reaper's SPL Review

A look back to the Summer of 2017

Reaper's SPL Review
23 Oct
Reaper's SPL Review
Posted by: Mat Armstrong
Year: 2017

Reaper's SPL Review It's that time of year again, as 17th September brought the curtain down on another season at Bray it also marked Reaper's 34th full season and either 23rd or 24th successive season as Sunday captain. 2017 brought a successful Sunday season for M & B, helped by the fact that 2 of the 3 abandoned games would have probably resulted in defeats. Availability on the whole was pretty good, aided by a core of around 5/6 players who played over 10 games but 46 players were still used in 16 games! From my own point of view it helped with the ladies having 4 or 5 games on the main square, thereby giving me a few Sundays off.

Statistics
  • Played 16
  • Won 9
  • Drew 1
  • Lost 3
  • Abandoned 3

The one drawn game was not surprisingly the only time game we play, albeit a good tight game nonetheless - M & B 244 Incogniti 239 for 8.

Amazingly M & B batted first on 14 occasions this season, which must be a record. Reaper batted first whenever he won the toss and the opposition seemed to put M & B in rather a lot.

Highest total - 284 for 4 v Gentlemen of Hampstead Lowest total - 89 v Regals first game of the season.

Average score 190 Largest victory - 214 runs v Gentlemen of Hampstead Narrowest win - 4 runs v Fleet Street Strollers(defending 274) Highest individual score - 122 Blair King v Gentlemen of Hampstead(only century of season) Best individual bowling - 8/2/24/4 Chris Butler v Royal Ascot.

Appearances( 5 and above)
  • Reaper 16
  • Thomas Allen 14
  • Atif Amin 13
  • Gunbarul 12
  • Ashley Becker 11
  • Chris Butler 10
  • Blair King 10
  • Mike Parkinson 9
  • Ambar Moorthy 7
  • Brain Dixon 6
  • Joe Blackett 5
  • Faisal Aziz 5
  • Kieran Grey 5
Averages
Batting (qualification 4 innings)

innings not outs runs average highest
Reaper 8 6 78 39 29no
Kieran Grey 4 0 134 33.5 77
Ash Becker 11 1 291 29.1 77
Blair King 10 0 290 29 122
Mike Parkinson 9 1 213 26.62 91no
Ben Ward snr 4 0 106 26.50 52
Gunbarul 12 2 231 23.1 65no
Joe Blackett 4 2 53 26.5 24
Faisal Aziz 5 0 114 22.8 70
Brian Dixon 5 0 112 22.4 48
GT 11 3 162 20.25 42
Tifler 13 2 194 17.64 47
Averages Bowling (qualification 4 wickets)
overs maidens runs wickets average economy best bowling
James Cunliffe 9.4 0 41 6 6.83 4.36 4.4/0/20/3
Sam Murray 3.5 0 43 4 10.75 12.29 3.5/0/43/4
Chris Butler 62.4 7 237 20 11.85 3.8 8/2/24/4
Reaper 47 3 180 11 16.36 3.83 5/0/30/3
Ash Becker 35 6 111 6 18.50 3.08 5/2/17/2
GT 77 9 379 19 19.95 4.92 5/1/18/3
Joe Blackett 34 4 102 4 25.5 3 10/1/25/2
Kieran Grey 22 2 108 4 27 4.9 7/0/31/4
Gunbarul 60.4 4 259 8 32.37 4.2910/1/40/3
Ambar Moorthy 43 3 217 4 54.25 5.04 8/2/23/3

Honourable mention

  • Cameron Jacobsen two innings 65 v Fiddlers & 79 v Incogniti
  • James Cunliffe, brilliant 59no batting at no 10 v Royal Challengers.

As mirrors the league averages the bowling is better than the batting, which is no great surprise considering the plethora of bowlers we have at the club. I think I'm right in saying only three centuries were scored over the whole season at the club.

Bowling dominated by the slow bowlers, Sunday spin twins Butler & Allen, bowling in tandem to the fore.

Bowler of the year

Easiest of decisions, Chris Butler, retains his title from last year. Missed a few games this year, only played 10 times. Went wicketless only once, started with 3 wickets in first game and never looked back, finishing off with another 3 in last game of season. A much better bowler this year, conceding far fewer runs and achieving an economy rate of less than 4. Another exclusive Road End operator, well bowled.

James Cunliffe bowled with flight and guile to well positioned fields on the two occasions he spun his web.

Reaper - only bowled in half the games and only bowling a full allocation once. Tended to bowl at the death, usual straight up and down with keeper up. Chief Road End operator.

Ash Becker, bowled with control at the start of an innings when he wasn't playing as a front line batter or keeping.

GT, junior Sunday spinner reaping the rewards of bowling in tandem with Butler. Economy rate a bit high, control the mood swings improve the averages and economy.

Joe Blackett generally opened the bowling and didn't get the rewards his bowling deserved. Only going at 3 an over when opening the bowling to attacking fields and against a few good batters.

Kieran Grey bowled well considering he had been keeping all year for the 1's.

Gunbarul, not as destructive as in previous years, due to a dodgy back. Still bowled a number of telling spells though.

Ambar Moorthy, will hopefully have more luck next year. Opened the bowling every time against a number of attacking batsmen. Not sure about that 7 - 2 off side split though Ambar?

Batsman of the year

A much harder decision, especially when the likes of the Reaper are top of the averages and only two players average over 30. After considered opinion the award is passed over this year, showing how everyone chipped in generally to build an average team total of 190.

Reaper - top of averages courtesy of 3/4 of his innings being undefeated. 78 runs is a vast improvement though! Started from first game scoring 18no, including one and only 6 of the season, having not picked up a bat since the previous season. High point being 29no and involved in last wicket partnership of 70+ with James Cunliffe v Royal Chargers.

Kieran Grey - batted higher up the order on Sundays, hard straight driving to the fore and always aggressive.

Ash Becker - admittedly against lower quality bowling than he is used to, but scored his first two club 50's and hence two career bests. Strong cover and straight driver and effortless runner between the wickets and scored runs at a fast rate. Again possibly benefitted as well from batting higher up the order.

Blair King - scored the one century of the season v Gents of Hampstead and a better innings of 82 v Fiddlers. Only 86 runs though in the remaining 8 innings for the opener, which will disappoint him.

Mike Parkinson - good to see Parks back playing regularly - proved to be a lucky omen for the Sunday team, suffering no defeats during his 9 appearances. Started with a bang with 91no, a career best. As always a strong driver of the ball through the covers. Threatened to start bowling again next season!

Ben Ward snr - reached double figures on each occasion. Half the time though gave his wicket away when set. Strong straight of the wicket and the flamingo cut.

Gunbarul - back to bowling more this season and batting lower in the order. Still contributed two 50's in his own inimitable way - strong mid - on and over cow, as well as driving through covers and pulls and sweeps to leg. Handy contributor of runs in middle lower order, as always.

Joe Blackett - again performed well in the few innings he played. Top scored with 24 in first game of season. Saw M & B home with 19no, coming in at no9 v Dave Smart's X1.

Faizal Aziz - one stand out innings of 70 v Fleet Street Strollers. Strong leg side player, although can score all round wicket.

Brain Dixon - didn't play as much this year. Scored a fluent 48 in his first game of season v Kensington on a difficult wicket.

GT - handy season with bat contributing 162 runs in the lower order courtesy of a batting lesson from Ascot captain James Wensley. Strongest down the ground and through leg. Helped win game v Royal Challengers with 25 at no 9 and earned M & B a draw in his final game of season with 42. Highlight though was an effortless 6 v Braywood into the net - an extended forward defensive.

Tifler - the rock at no 5! Finished season on a high with 47no, including, eventually, a six over mid-off. Accumulates in his own steady way. No scoring rate available or % of final balls he gets a single off !Always good for a batting crisis and there have been many of those this season.

Wicket keeping

The most important position in the team. Blair was the main keeper, I believe keeping in all the games he played. Brian and Kieran kept on a couple of occasions as did the versatile Ash. Needed to get Jim Sidwell out of retirement on one occasion - fair play Sidders you did well, taking an excellent catch off Gun and a stumping as well. Ben kindly stepped in for the first half of the innings in the final match of the season v Stage, with Ash taking over after he had completed his bowling stint.

Fielding

Traditionally a weak point of the Sunday team based upon the core of the team, too old and immobile! The fielding was boosted by the inclusion of Ash Becker, with the ultra safe hands and bullet throw, albeit he did drop a few near the end of the season, catching the bad Sunday habits. Mike Parkinson also added to M & B 's catching abilities. On the whole if was a slightly improved fielding performance.

Final award of the season is the main MVP award. The award goes to a player who has performed at consistent level throughout the season and therefore goes to one of the regular players. Main contenders:

Chris Butler - for his bowling throughout the season, averaging 2 wickets a game and an improved economy.

Blair King - Regular opening batsman and wicket keeper.

Gunbarul - Another reliable season in terms of wicket taking, runs and one of the few dependable catchers.

Thomas Allen - steady wicket taker and valuable source of lower order runs.

Ash Becker - Reliable, economical opening bowler, bowling tight spells and not getting the amount of wickets he deserved. Scorer of quick runs at this level, also leading run scorer and dependable catcher as well as fill in wicket keeper.

Most Valuable Player is Ashley Becker .

Well played Ash, it was good to have the overseas player regularly available on a Sunday. Hopefully you enjoyed the batting opportunities and we hope to welcome you back next year, probably with the Ashes, after Stokes' night time escapades are likely to rule him out of the Ashes.

Highlights

Looking back at season the main team highlight was the 74 runs win over Royal Challengers, coming back from 60/8 to post 173. GT 25 at no 9 and Reaper and James Cunliffe 69no at no 10 batting out last dozen overs to add 70+. GT and James picking up three wickets each to bowl opposition out for 99.

In general though most of the victories were by the bowlers restricting the opposition batsmen, quite often courtesy of the spin twins, and managing to defend average totals. Quite a few times the opposition looked as if they would win but a few quick wickets have turned the tables.

Finally a couple of thank yous, to end proceedings. To Brian Dixon for providing us with teas for 14 of our 16 games and to Pete Meade for umpiring on 4 / 5 occasions. Also to all the players who supported me and turned out for the Sunday X1 and made the 2017 season a successful one, especially to the core Sunday regulars.

Winter well you all. Hope to see at the Big Bash this weekend or at the club during the off season.

regards

Reaper

Senior Section
Twitter

Latest News Articles

Sunday XI v David Smart's XI August 5th 2018
Sunday XI v David Smart's XI August 5th 2018

A stunning all round performance from younger Blackwell sibling, Harry,…

Mat Armstrong - Aug 09, 2018
Sunday XI v Nomads 22nd July 2018
Sunday XI v Nomads 22nd July 2018

M & B lost by 7 wickets to a supposedly powerful Nomads line up on Sunday.…

Mat Armstrong - Jul 26, 2018
Sunday XI v Incognito 8th July 2018
Sunday XI v Incognito 8th July 2018

M&B romped to a ten wicket victory on Sunday despite losing the toss…

Mat Armstrong - Jul 13, 2018
Sunday XI v Royal Challengers 24th June 2018
Sunday XI v Royal Challengers 24th June 2018

M&B inflicted a 9wicket defeat against the Royal Challengers on Sunday…

Mat Armstrong - Jun 28, 2018
Sunday XI v Gentlemen of Hampstead 10th June 2018
Sunday XI v Gentlemen of Hampstead 10th June 2018

After a poor start to the season M & B got their second win in a row…

Mat Armstrong - Jun 16, 2018
Sunday XI v Kensington 28th May 2018
Sunday XI v Kensington 28th May 2018

At the fifth time of asking M & B finally got off the mark as they beat…

Mat Armstrong - Jun 01, 2018
Sunday XI v Fleet Street Strollers 27th May 2018
Sunday XI v Fleet Street Strollers 27th May 2018

M&B made it four losses on the spin as they were defeated in the final…

Mat Armstrong - Jun 01, 2018
Sunday XI v Braywood 13th May 2018
Sunday XI v Braywood 13th May 2018

M & B lost for the third time this season by 5 wickets at the hands…

Mat Armstrong - May 18, 2018

About Maidenhead & Bray Cricket Club

The Cricket Club is situated in the beautiful village of Bray, Berkshire, on the banks of the Thames, overlooked by the Church of St Michael. The main ground is widely acknowledged as one of the most picturesque in the country.

Est. in 1798 and a member of the Morrant Thames Valley League, with three senior teams and a thriving colts section both boys and girls

Contact Information

  • Address: The Pavilion, The High Street, Bray, Maidenhead, Berkshire SL6 2AA
  • Clubhouse Number: 01628 622669
  • Mobile Number:
  • Club Email Address: cricketat@mandbcc.co.uk
  • Website Address: www.mandbcc.co.uk

F.J. Lane Ltd

Windsor's oldest established builders, formed in 1917

The company primarily covers all building refurbishment's, maintenance, plumbing and heating installations to domestic and commercial properties

Visit their website ×

Goyals of Maidenhead

Goyals is a schoolwear outfitters based in Maidenhead in Berkshire

Goyals is a family owned business that has been supplying school uniforms in the Berkshire and Buckinghamshire area for more than 40 years, including Maidenhead, Windsor, Slough, Burnham, Taplow and Marlow.

Visit their website ×

Louis Baylis Trust

Supporting local organisations and charities

Visit their website ×

Stubbings Nursery

Stubbings Nursery Ltd

Stubbings Estate, Henley Road, Maidenhead, BERKS, SL6 6QL

Visit their website ×

Amazon.co.uk

Raise some money for the club by making your Amazon purchases through our site.

Click on the link below and it will take you to the Amazon site where you can make your purchases. A percentage of your purchase will be provided to the club at no cost to you, its as simple as that!!

Visit Amazon ×

Berkshire Cricket

Berkshire Cricket Ltd

Berkshire Cricket is the governing body for ALL cricket within the County of Berkshire and one of the leading non-professional Counties in England, recently enjoying substantial success on the field with both men and women's County teams.

Visit their website ×

Claires Court Schools

Claires Court School

Claires Court, an Independent School in Maidenhead, Berkshire, offers a unique education from Nursery to Sixth Form.

Visit their website ×

Marlow Cars

Marlow Cars

Welcome to Marlow Cars, we buy and supply prestige marques, specialising in Bentley. We stock over 60 prestige motors cars at any one time making us one of the largest independent in the UK, this includes Rolls Royce, Aston Martin, Porsche, Range Rover and Mercedes. Established for over 30 years offering wide model choice and variation, our extensive market knowledge, resources and customer care provides an unrivalled service.

Visit their website ×

Omega Electricals

Omega Electricals

Omega Electrical Services are an independant company that can offer a wide range of electrical services at any location throughout the UK. We are based in Maidenhead with a 2000 sq ft manufacturing facility that has easy access to both M4 & M40 motorways.

Visit their website ×

Degrees Of Comfort

Degrees Of Comfort - Air Condition/Maintenance

DOC Building Facilities Ltd (Degrees of Comfort) began in 2005. We have grown from strength to strength since then and believe our success is due to our commitment in providing high quality and cost effective solutions to our clients.

Visit their website ×

Building Materials

BuildingMaterials.co.uk - Building Materials, platerboard, Partitioning, Timber & Sheet etc

Started by Phil Lidgerton back in 2003, their Head office is based in Maidenhead

They specialise in the supply of building and construction materials to contractors and end users.

Working closely with some of the biggest manufacturers and distributors in the UK they give an unrivalled service to customers who require building products.

Visit their website ×

Exlers Garage Ltd

Exlers Garage Ltd - MOT Testing, Servicing Clutch, brakes & suspension repairs, Fault code reading and diagnosis, Air conditioning repair and recharge

Trading for over 100 years on the same site in Furze Platt, Maidenhead, Exlers Garage has established a reputation for quality workmanship and customer care second to none in the local area.

Visit their website ×

Club Details

Maidenhead & Bray Cricket Club Limited Reg No. 03192424 Registered In England

Registered Address: Victoria Cottage, Grove Lane, Winkfield Row, Bracknell, RG42 6ND

Club Secretary - Shabbir Mookhtiar - Club Secretary

Material from this website may not be copied or distributed, or republished, uploaded, posted, or transmitted in any way, without the prior written consent of the owners of said content. Please get in touch with Club Admin for further details.

Privacy Notice

Under new laws coming into effect in May 2018, we need to provide you with certain details concerning how your personal data will be used and protected.

Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club takes the protection of the data we hold about you as a member seriously and are committed to respecting your privacy. This notice is to explain how we may use personal information we collect and how we comply with the law on data protection, what your rights are.

Names of data controller: Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club
Categories of personal data we collect
Our sources of the personal data: We obtain personal data from
Automated decisions we may take: None
Purposes for which we process personal data: The club will process the personal data for
Who we will disclose your personal data to
The legal basis for the collection and processing of your personal data is for:

administration and programme delivery:

that it is necessary to fulfil the contract that you are going to enter into or have entered into with us for dealing with medical needs: that you have given your explicit consent or in your vital interests.in all other cases: that it is necessary for our legitimate interests which are to build a programme to encourage participation in cricket and does not prejudice or harm your rights and freedoms.

Your right to withdraw consent

Where you have given your consent to any processing of personal data, you have the right to withdraw that consent at any time. If you do, it will not affect the lawfulness of any processing for which we had consent prior to your withdrawing it.

Location of your personal data
How long we will keep your personal data for

We will not retain your personal data for longer than is reasonable and necessary for the purposes for which it was collected. We shall retain your personal data for such time as you are registered with Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club as a member. 2 years after you cease to be a member of Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club or play an active part in the Club, we shall delete your data.

Your rights in respect of your personal data

You have the right of access to your personal data and, in some cases, to require us to restrict, erase or rectify it or to object to our processing it, and the right of data portability.

Our contact details

mail. Maidenhead and Bray Cricket Club,The Pavilion, the High Street, Bray, Maidenhead, Berkshire SL6 2AA

email. cricketat@mandbcc.co.uk

phone. 01628 622669

website. http://www.mandbcc.co.uk

Complaints

If you have any concerns or complaints about how we are handling your data please do not hesitate to get in touch with the named person at the club. You can also contact the Information Commissioner Office.

Cookies

This website uses the following cookies:

Item Purpose More information
Twitter Features for sharing via Twitter, and viewing tweets by other people. Twitter Privacy Policy
PHPSESSID General purpose cookie Used within sessions ie login
Collect information about how visitors use our site. We use the information to compile reports and to help us improve the site. The cookies collect information in an anonymous form, including the number of visitors to the site, where visitors have come to the site from and the pages they visited.

Most web browsers allow some control of most cookies through the browser settings. To find out more about cookies, including how to see what cookies have been set and how to manage and delete them, visit www.allaboutcookies.org.

Security and data retention

We employ security measures to protect your information from access by unauthorised persons and against unlawful processing, accidental loss, destruction and damage. We will retain your information for a reasonable period or as long as the law requires.

Accessing and updating

You are entitled to see the information held about you and you may ask us to make any necessary changes to ensure that it is accurate and kept up to date. If you wish to do this, please contact us

Changes to our privacy policy

Any changes to our privacy policy in the future will be posted to the website and, where appropriate, through e-mail notification.

Contact

All comments, queries and requests relating to our use of your information are welcomed and should be addressed to Club Administrator

×